CMS 4500 Schedule

Week Class Meeting D2L Content Module
01 Tuesday, Aug 11 Start Here!
Thursday, Aug 13 Mobile Phones 1
02 Tuesday, Aug 18 Mobile Phones 2
Thursday, Aug 20 Globalization 101
03 Tuesday, Aug 25 Martin Luther King
Thursday, Aug 27 Global Flows
04 Tuesday, Sept 1 Diversity Explosion
Thursday, Sept 3 Deterritorialization
05 Tuesday, Sept 8 Labor Day – No class
Thursday, Sept 10 Globalized Islam
06 Tuesday, Sept 15 Globalized Christianity
Thursday, Sept 17 Exam 1
07 Tuesday, Sept 22 Global production 1
Thursday, Sept 24 Global production 2
08 Tuesday, Sept 29 Glocalization
Thursday, Oct 1 Appropriation
09 Tuesday, Oct 6 Imperialism
Thursday, Oct 8 Korean Wave
10 Tuesday, Oct 13 Gangnam Style
Thursday, Oct 15 Korean Wave effects
11 Tuesday, Oct 20 McDonald’s in Hong Kong
Thursday, Oct 22 Glocalization 2
12 Tuesday, Oct 27 Exam 2
Thursday, Oct 29 La Haine, Indigenization and Hip Hop
13 Tuesday, Nov 3 Transnational Hollywood
Thursday, Nov 5 Hindi Cinema 101
14 Tuesday, Nov 10 Devdas 1
Thursday, Nov 12 Devdas 2
15 Tuesday, Nov 16 Dancing Identities
TBD Final Exam